2014 Ohio Lake Erie Awards Presented

2014 Ohio Lake Erie Awards Presented
City of Lorain representatives Derek Feuerstein and Kate Hoffman with Ohio EPA Director Craig W. Butler

Dr. R. Peter Richards and the city of Lorain are the recipients of the 2014 Ohio Lake Erie Awards presented by the Ohio Lake Erie Commission (OLEC).

OLEC honors one person and one organization each year that have worked to protect and restore Lake Erie and its watershed. Since 1995, 19 individuals and organizations have been recognized for their stewardship.

These award recipients have shown a great commitment to protecting and promoting Lake Erie and its watershed,” said Gail Hesse, executive director of OLEC. “We commend their efforts.”

Dr. R. Peter Richards is a senior research associate and former director of the National Water Quality Laboratory at Heidelberg University. Dr. Richards’ work has led to a greater understanding of the Lake Erie ecosystem and its watersheds.

The city of Lorain has been a leader in environmental stewardship through its significant restoration accomplishments on the Lower Black River.


Press Release, October 13, 2014


Related news

List of related news articles