Aker Energy chief executive resigns

Oil and gas company Aker Energy has named Svein Jakob Liknes, most recently Aker Energy’s Head of Operations, to acting Chief Executive Officer following the decision by Jan Arve Haugan to resign.

Jan Arve Haugan
Jan Arve Haugan; Source: Aker Energy

In parallel, adjustments are made to the company’s board of directors, Aker Energy said on Tuesday.

Øyvind Eriksen, President and Chief Executive Officer at Aker ASA, said: “Aker Energy continues the effort to optimize and safeguard the Pecan project in close collaboration with Ghanaian authorities.

“As Aker Energy is preparing for the next phase with PDO approval followed by project execution as the main tasks, Jan Arve Haugan is stepping down and Svein Jakob Liknes has been named acting CEO. Svein Jakob Liknes has extensive experience both from projects and operations and he has worked closely on the Pecan PDO process, making him the right fit to lead Aker Energy.”

Aker Energy holds a 50 percent participating interest in the Deepwater Tano Cape Three Points block in Ghana, including the Pecan development project.

The Pecan field, which is the most appraised in the DWTCTP block, is an oil field estimated to contain reserves of about 334 million barrels of oil equivalent.

Aker Energy submitted an integrated plan of Development and Operations (PDO) to Ghanaian authorities for the DWTCTP block in late March 2019. The integrated PDO presents an overall plan for a phased development and production of the resources in the DWTCTP contract area. The phased development plan will start with the development of the Pecan field as a firm phase one, being the largest of several discoveries in the area.

Svein Jakob Liknes has served as Aker Energy’s Head of Operations, overseeing the company’s current Plan of Development and Operations (PDO) process.

Prior to joining Aker Energy, Liknes held the position as SVP Operations & Asset Development in Aker BP. The appointment to acting CEO is effective immediately and will remain in effect until further notice.

In parallel with the leadership transition, the composition of the board of directors will be changed in both Aker Energy and TRG Energy, the owner of AGM Petroleum in Ghana and in which Kjell Inge Røkke is the main shareholder, to strengthen the two companies and better reflect that they will continue to operate as separate entities also in the next phase.

The shareholders of Aker Energy are Aker ASA (49%), TRG AS (49%), and Management (2%).

The main task for TRG Energy is to quantify discoveries, including by drilling new appraisal wells. Aker Energy will continue as a service provider to TRG Energy. In addition to the reallocation of board members between TRG Energy and Aker Energy, Rosalind Kainyah has decided to resign from the board of Aker Energy, and will continue to offer her support through her consultancy business.

The new board of Aker Energy will now consist of Karl Johnny Hersvik as Chairman, Samaila Zubairu as Deputy Chairman, Anne Marie Cannon, Tore Torvund, Kjell Inge Røkke, and Øyvind Eriksen.

TRG Energy board consists of Sverre Skogen as Chairman, Kjell Inge Røkke as Deputy Chairman. David Adomakoh, Kristian Monsen Røkke, Olav Revhaug, and Khash Mohajerani​.

Spotted a typo? Have something more to add to the story? Maybe a nice photo? Contact our editorial team via email.

Also, if you’re interested in showcasing your company, product or technology on Offshore Energy Today, please contact us via our advertising form where you can also see our media kit.