Darren Woods named Exxon CEO as Tillerson leaves

Darren Woods named Exxon CEO as Tillerson leaves
Darren Woods (Image courtesy of ExxonMobil)

Darren W. Woods, currently president of Exxon Mobil Corporation, has been named chairman and CEO of the company, replacing Rex Tillerson, effective January 1, 2017. 

Rex W. Tillerson, chairman and chief executive officer of Exxon Mobil Corporation will retire at the end of the year following 41 years in service. His retirement comes after the decision of U.S. President-elect Donald J. Trump, to appoint him as the United States top diplomat.

Tillerson was scheduled to retire in March 2017 when he reached 65, the company’s mandatory retirement age for his position, however, it was concluded that given the significant requirements associated with the confirmation process, it was appropriate to move the retirement date.

Tillerson joined Exxon Company USA in 1975 as a production engineer. He held various senior roles in the corporation throughout his career spanning more than four decades, including executive vice president of ExxonMobil Development Company.

He was named senior vice president of Exxon Mobil Corporation in 2001 and was elected president and member of the board of directors in 2004. Tillerson was elected chairman and chief executive officer in January 2006.

Woods was elected president of ExxonMobil and a member of the board of directors in January 2016.

He joined Exxon Company International in 1992. During his career he held various senior domestic and international positions in ExxonMobil refining & supply company, ExxonMobil chemical company and Exxon Company International. He also served as manager of ExxonMobil investor relations.

In 2012, he was appointed president of ExxonMobil Refining & Supply Company and a vice president of the corporation. In this role, Woods had primary responsibility for the company’s global refining, supply and transportation activities. In 2014, he was named a senior vice president of the corporation and became a member of its management committee.