Equinor adds experience to its board of directors

Norwegian energy giant and LNG operator Equinor, formerly Statoil, named Anne Drinkwater and Jonathan Lewis as new members of the company’s board of directors.

Furthermore, the nomination committee re-elected Jon Erik Reinhardsen as chair and Roy Franklin as deputy chair of the board in addition to re-election of Jeroen van der Veer, Wenche Agerup, Bjørn Tore Godal and Rebekka Glasser Herlofsen as shareholder-elected members of the board of directors.

Drinkwater was employed with BP in the period 1978 to 2012, holding a number of different leadership positions in the company. In the period 2009 to 2012, she was the chief executive officer of BP Canada, and was responsible for operations in the US, Norway, Indonesia, the Middle East and Africa.

In recent years she has served on the board of Tullow Oil in England and Aker Solutions ASA in Norway. She has now stepped out of these boards. Through her role as managing director of BP Norway and board position at Aker Solutions she has acquired a good understanding of the Norwegian oil and gas sector.

Jonathan Lewis joined as CEO to Capita in December 2017 having previously spent 30 years working for large multi-national companies in technology-enabled industries. Lewis came to Capita from Amec Foster Wheeler where he was CEO from 2016-2017. Prior to this, he held a number of senior leadership positions at Halliburton, where he was employed in the period 1996 to 2016.

Lewis has previously held several directorships within technology and the oil and gas industry.

The election of members to the board of directors enters into effect from July 1, 2018, and is effective until the ordinary election of shareholder-elected members to the board of directors in 2019.

Related news

List of related news articles