Shell: Josef Ackermann to retire as director

Royal Dutch Shell plc has informed that Josef Ackermann, a Non-executive Director, has notified the Company of his intention to retire as the Director of the Company at the 2014 Annual General Meeting, scheduled to be held on May 20, 2014.

Shell Josef Ackermann to retire as director
Josef Ackermann

Born February 7, 1948, a Swiss national, he was appointed a Non-executive Director of Shell in May 2008.

He started his professional career in 1977 at Schweizerische Kreditanstalt (SKA), where he held a variety of positions in corporate banking, foreign exchange/money markets, treasury and investment banking. In 1990, he was appointed to SKA’s Executive Board, on which he served as President between 1993 and 1996. He joined Deutsche Bank’s Management Board in 1996 with responsibility for the investment banking division and, from 2006 and 2002 respectively until May 2012, he was Chairman of the Management Board and of the Group Executive Committee of Deutsche Bank AG.

He was Chairman of the Board of Directors of Zurich Insurance Group Limited and of Zurich Insurance Company Limited from March 2012 to August 2013 and a member of the Supervisory Board of Siemens AG from January 2003 to September 2013. He is currently a member of the Board of Directors of Investor AB and a number of advisory boards. He also has various roles in several foundations and academic institutions.


 March 03, 2014


Related news

List of related news articles