SPE Aberdeen reveals Young Professional award finalists

The Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) Aberdeen has revealed the finalists for the Young Professional award at the 2018 Offshore Achievement Awards (OAAs).

The organization said on Tuesday that four young offshore industry professionals were nominated as the finalists in the Young Professional award category.

The four finalists are Expro engineer Chris Stewart, graduate mechanical engineer at BP Laura Steedman, offshore operations engineer at Nexen Lyndsey Thomas, and offshore HSEA supervisor at Nexen Jennifer Brown.

“From 20 applications an initial shortlist of six candidates were interviewed. The four shortlisted individuals impressed judges in a rigorous panel interview process, and the winner will be announced at the prestigious ceremony next month,” SPE said.

Ian Phillips, chairman of SPE Aberdeen, said: “We introduced the interview process last year and it has really helped our judges fully understand and appreciate each individual’s strengths, and their career journey so far. Each young professional on the short-list should be justifiably proud of themselves, and we look forward to sharing their stories at the award ceremony.”

Last year’s winner, Marianne Mckevitt, a petroleum engineer at BP, said that the award was the highlight of her career to date.

She said: “I was delighted to have my achievements and impact to the oil and gas industry recognized both internally and externally. It raised my profile with senior leaders across the company and allowed me to build a stronger network that gives me exposure to more global opportunities. It has also allowed me to expand my network into other parts of the business outside my core discipline.”

The 2018 Offshore Achievement Awards, sponsored by TAQA, will award the best talent, performance, and innovation in the industry.

Over 100 entries were received, with a particular interest in the Collaboration, Emerging Technology, Innovator, and Young Professional categories. The remaining Offshore Achievement Awards finalists were announced last month.

The 2018 OAA ceremony will take place on Thursday, March 22, at the Aberdeen Exhibition and Conference Centre.