Go-ahead for Nord Stream 2 pipeline from Finland

Project developer Nord Stream 2 AG has received the second of two permits required to construct and operate the planned natural gas pipeline in the Finnish Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ), completing the permitting procedure in Finland.

The project, operated by Gazprom’s subsidiary Nord Stream 2 AG, received the first permit for the use of the Finnish EEZ last week.

The second permit was granted on Wednesday, April 11 by the Regional State Administrative Agency Southern Finland in accordance with the Water Act.

Tore Granskog, Permitting Manager Finland at Nord Stream 2 AG, said: “This is an important day for our project: following a very thorough analysis and extensive engagement the Finnish authorities have approved our detailed plans to construct and operate the 374-kilometer Finnish section of the 1,230-kilometer Nord Stream 2 Pipeline.

“We look forward to continuing the constructive co-operation with the authorities during the construction and subsequent operation phases of the project as they monitor the implementation of our plans.”

The Finnish permitting procedure was initiated in autumn 2017 after the environmental impact assessment (EIA) phase, which was a pre-requisite for proceeding to the permitting phase. The EIA and statements received during the consultations are used as a basis for decision-making in permitting.

The project operator noted that all necessary permits needed for the project have also been received in Germany and the national permitting procedures in the other three countries along the route – Russia, Sweden and Denmark – are proceeding as planned.

The twin pipeline, which involves two parallel 48 inch lines, will travel through the Baltic Sea, starting from the coast of Russia and reaching landfall near Greifswald in Germany. It will run roughly parallel to the existing Nord Stream pipeline.

The project will have the capacity to transport up to 55 billion cubic meters of gas per year from Russia to Europe, connecting with pipelines within the European Union for onwards transmission.