Halliburton president and CEO takes chairman role

Oilfield services company Halliburton has appointed its president and chief executive officer (CEO) to the position of chairman.

Halliburton said on Wednesday that president and CEO Jeff Miller was elected to the role of chairman of the board, effective January 1.

To remind, Miller was appointed to the position of president and CEO in June 2017, taking over from Dave Lesar, who had been the CEO since 2000, after replacing Dick Cheney who had resigned after George W. Bush announced him as his vice-presidential running mate.

Miller, who has been with Halliburton since 1997, has now also taken over Lesar’s chairman role, as Lesar retired on December 31, 2018.

Lesar joined Halliburton in 1993 and served the company in a variety of roles. He served as president and chief operating officer of Halliburton from June 1997 to August 2000, and continued as president until August 2014. Previously, he was the executive vice president and CFO of Halliburton, and executive vice president of finance and administration for Halliburton Energy Services, a Halliburton business unit.

Regarding his appointment as the chairman, Miller said: “I appreciate the confidence that the board has placed in me. Halliburton has a 100-year legacy of delivering industry-leading returns and superior customer service, and I am honored to lead our company as we continue that tradition.”

Also, Robert A. Malone will continue as lead independent director of the Halliburton board of directors. He will serve as a liaison between the independent directors and the chair, approve agendas for board meetings, preside over meetings and executive sessions of the independent directors, and lead the board’s annual evaluation of the CEO.

Offshore Energy Today Staff

Related news

List of related news articles