ScottishPower Names New Member to Board of Directors

ScottishPower Names New Member to Board of Directors

Iberdrola and ScottishPower Chairman Ignacio Galán today announced that Professor Susan Deacon has been appointed as a Non Executive Director to the Board of ScottishPower Limited.

Professor Deacon was until recently Non-Executive Chairman of the ScottishPower Renewables Board, which has now been restructured following the full re-integration of the global renewables operation back into the main Iberdrola Group.

Professor Deacon was an inaugural member of the ScottishPower Advisory Board following the integration with Iberdrola in 2007 and originally joined the Board of Scottish Power Renewables as a Non-Executive Director in 2009. She continues in her role as a member of the Board of Trustees of the Iberdrola Foundation.

Commenting on the appointment, Ignacio Galán said: “Susan has chaired ScottishPower Renewables through a key phase in the Company’s development including establishing itself as the largest onshore wind power developer in the UK and reaching the key milestone of 1,000 MW of electricity production capacity from wind power.

“Since Susan first joined the ScottishPower Advisory Board back in 2007, her contributions to the business have been greatly valued. I am very pleased that Susan will continue to play an active role in the future successes of ScottishPower by accepting this important position.”

 Professor Deacon said: “I look forward to continuing my work with ScottishPower during this key time for both the Company and the UK energy industry. By any measure, be it the thousands of people employed, power generation capacity, customers served or investment in new innovative technologies , ScottishPower plays a key role in the economic and social fabric of both Scotland and the UK and I welcome the opportunity to continue to be a part of the organisation’s development and growth at this important time.”


Offshore WIND staff, July 18, 2012