SPE Aberdeen reveals award winners during Offshore Europe

The Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) Aberdeen has announced the winners of the North Sea Regional and SPE Aberdeen awards for achievements in the section. 

The awards ceremony took place during Offshore Europe week, September 5, at the Aberdeen Exhibition and Conference Centre.

SPE International president Janeen Judah presented the awards to those who have shown commitment to enhancing SPE activities over the last 12 months.

The organization gave a special commendation to Colin Black, one of SPE Aberdeen’s directors, who is set to receive the SPE International Outstanding Service Award at the organization’s Annual Technical Conference and Exhibition (ATCE) in San Antonio, Texas on October 9-11.

SPE said that Black was instrumental in embedding the global Energy4Me program into the Scottish education curriculum. This program aims to promote STEM subjects and educate the oil and gas industry’s next generation of aspiring engineers, scientists, and managers.

He also played a major role in bringing the ‘NASA in Aberdeen’ initiative to the city this year, as well as securing it for the next three years.

The winners of SPE Aberdeen Section Awards were:

  • Chris Stewart (Expro Group plc), services to the Young Professionals Committee
  • Ritika Pawar (Intertek Group plc), services to the Student Development Committee
  • Sylvester Ogfoba (Baker Hughes, a GE company), services to the Student Development Committee
  • Kenny McAllister (Seal-Tite UK, LLC), services to the Program Committee
  • Mearns & Gill, long term service to the SPE Aberdeen Section
  • Diane Wood (SPE Aberdeen Section Manager), long term service to the SPE Aberdeen Section
  • Heriot Watt University, SPE Aberdeen Student Chapter Award

As far as the SPE Regional Awards were concerned, the winners were:

  • Steve Cromar (formerly ConocoPhillips, now retired), Regional Service Award for services to the SPE Aberdeen Section
  • Richard Cooper (TauRx Therapeutics Ltd), Regional Young Member Outstanding Service Award
  • Neil Armstrong (Merlin ERD Ltd), Drilling Engineering award
  • Eric Mackay (Heriot Watt University, Institute of Petroleum Engineering), Production and Operations Award

Ian Phillips, SPE Aberdeen chairman, said: “Our board, volunteers, and contractors are the driving force behind the Aberdeen section, as well as many regional and global programs, and they deserve great recognition for their efforts.

“This evening has been a superb celebration of these efforts, and we are very proud to see many of our members recognized both locally and globally.”

Related news

List of related news articles