Statoil confirms PGS CEO as new chairman

The corporate assembly of Norwegian oil major Statoil held on Tuesday, June 6 has endorsed all recommendations from the nomination committee including the election of the company’s new chairman.

Statoil’s nomination committee unanimously recommended PGS CEO Jon Erik Reinhardsen as the company’s new chairman of the board of directors at the end of May.

Current chair of the board, Øystein Løseth, decided not to stand for re-election in 2017. He stated that he wished to return to more operational positions.

The corporate assembly re-elected Roy Franklin as deputy chair and Wenche Agerup, Bjørn Tore Godal, Rebekka Glasser Herlofsen, Maria Johanna Oudeman, and Jeroen van der Veer as board members, all in line with recommendations from the nomination committee. The re-elections will enter into effect from July 1 until the ordinary election of shareholder-elected members to the board of directors in 2018.

Reinhardsen will leave his CEO position in PGS as of August 31 and take over as chairman of Statoil from September 1.

The deputy chair of the board, Roy Franklin, will function as the acting chair of the board for an interim period from July 1, when Løseth leaves the board of directors, until and including August 31.

Furthermore, the corporate assembly re-elected Ingrid Di Valerio and Stig Lægreid as employee-elected members of Statoil’s board of directors. Per Martin Labråthen was elected as a new employee-elected member. In order of priority, Hans Einar Haldorsen, Per Steinar Stamnes, and Jorunn Birkeland were elected as deputy members for the employee-elected board members.

The employee-elected members to the board of directors enter into effect from June 8 until the ordinary election of employee-elected members to the board of directors in 2019.