Subsea UK Awards: Tekmar Scoops Company of the Year

The awards, which celebrate the achievements of companies and individuals in the UK subsea industry, were presented on Thursday 08, at a gala dinner in Aberdeen during Subsea Expo – Europe’s largest subsea-focused exhibition and conference.

Neil Gordon, chief executive of Subsea UK hosted the ceremony with former UK Government minister and chairman of Triumph Motorcycles, Lord Digby Jones as guest speaker.

The top award, Company of the Year, was presented to Tekmar Energy. Having grown from a small, family owned business founded in 1985, Tekmar now has more than 4,000 protection systems in operation around the globe protecting billions of pounds worth of subsea assets. The company has experienced rapid growth over the past five years, despite the economic challenges, it has continued to expand its product offering and diversified into new markets.

Founder and former managing director of Tritech, Richard Marsh scooped the Outstanding Contribution Award.

Maritime Developments won the Innovation & Technology award.

This year’s event saw the launch of the David Pridden Young Emerging Talent Award, a commemorative accolade in memory of the inaugural Subsea UK chief executive, David Pridden who sadly passed away last year. Arnold Grundy of Oceaneering was the winner.

AgileTek was crowned the Small Company of the Year and The Underwater Centre was presented with the Innovation for Safety award for the second year running. The Global Exports award went to STATS Group and Bristol-based Rovco won the New Enterprise award.

Related news

List of related news articles