UK’s Oil and Gas Authority appoints new chairman

The UK Government has appointed a new chairman of the Oil and Gas Authority (OGA).

Tim Eggar, the new chair of the Oil and Gas Authority; Source: OGA

The Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy said on Wednesday that the Business and Energy Secretary Greg Clark appointed Tim Eggar as the new chair of the Oil and Gas Authority (OGA).

Eggar will take up his position on March 11, 2019, replacing Frances Morris-Jones, who will complete her term as interim chair at the end of March.

Tim Eggar is currently the chairman of MyCelx Technologies, a clean-water technology company for the energy sector, and a board mentor. He was also a government minister for 11 years, and Energy Minister between 1992 and 1996.

In a separate statement, OGA chief executive Andy Samuel welcomed the appointment of Eggar by stating: “We welcome Tim as our new chairman and I very much look forward to his start with us in Aberdeen next week as we continue our close work with industry and Government to deliver the significant value outlined in Vision 2035.

“I would like to thank our interim chair Frances Morris-Jones for her support and dedication over the past year. Frances will resume her previous role on the OGA board as a non-executive director.”

Regarding his appointment, Eggar added: “I am delighted to have been appointed to chair the Oil and Gas Authority and look forward to working with the board, Government, and industry to maximize the value of this critical sector.”

It is worth reminding that OGA appointed Frances Morris-Jones as an interim chair in April 2018 after Patrick Brown’s tenure as chairman ended in March that year. Morris-Jones has served on the OGA board as a non-executive director since October 2015.