Winners of 30th Offshore Achievement Awards revealed

The Society of Petroleum Engineers has revealed the winners of the 30th Offshore Achievement Awards during a ceremony held on March 17. 

Dan Purkis of Well-SENSE Technology collected the Significant Contribution accolade at the 2016 Offshore Achievement Awards which took place at the Aberdeen Exhibition and Conference Centre.

Tendeka and Well-Centric were named Great Large and Great Small Companies respectively, whilst Interventek Subsea Engineering, Darcy, N-Sea, CETCO Energy Services, TWMA, Peterson and Aker Solutions completed the list of companies collecting awards on the night.

Individual awards were presented to Hayley Pearson of Costain, who was named Young Professional, and to Allan Smillie of TAQA who received the Above & Beyond trophy.

Alan Dick of award organisers SPE Aberdeen said: “We were particularly enthused by the creativity and range of companies named as finalists and winners, representative of the industry’s full supply chain. It has been encouraging to hear from specialist technology providers, focused on research, development and innovation, through to the multinationals which are supporting E&P activity on a global scale.”

After collecting his award, Dan Purkins said: “Enthusiasm, passion, and always questioning if there’s a better way are the keys to successful innovation. In a low oil price environment there has never been a better time to introduce new technology. It does however require the right industry support and an acceptance that no significant changes can be made if a risk averse attitude prevails.”

The 2016 Offshore Achievement Award winners in each category are:

Emerging Technology Awards – Interventek Subsea Engineering

Innovator Award – Darcy

Safety Innovations Award – N-Sea

Environmental Innovation Award – CETCO Energy Services

Export Achievement Award – TWMA

Collaboration Award – Peterson

Outstanding Skills Development Programme Award – Aker Solutions

Young Professional Award – Hayleigh Pearson, Costain

Above & Beyond Award – Allan Smillie, TAQA

Great Small Company Award – Well-Centric

Great Large Company Award – Tendeka

Significant Contribution Award – Dan Purkis, Well-SENSE Technology

SPE Special Recognition Award – Trevor Garlick

Related news

List of related news articles