2015 Offshore Achievement Awards finalists

Recognizing some of the UK offshore industry’s strongest talent, the shortlist for the 2015 Offshore Achievement Awards has been announced today (Monday, 12 January 2015)

The annual awards, sponsored by TAQA, are organized and hosted by the Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) Aberdeen Section and recognize exceptional performance across a range of categories. The 12 awards celebrate individual achievements, company performance and significant innovations in safety and technology.


Ian Phillips, SPE Aberdeen director and chief executive of the Oil and Gas Innovation Centre, said: “The 2015 Offshore Achievement Awards have again attracted an exceptionally high calibre of entrants and we are delighted to announce the very strong line-up of finalists this year. Once again, judges were impressed by the talent and performance demonstrated in the UK offshore industry.


“These awards are a great platform for companies and individuals to gain recognition and this year, we have had more entries than ever. There was a particular increase in nominations in the Emerging Technology and Small Company categories which is extremely encouraging. It is vital to the longevity of the energy industry that new technologies are continually being developed and new, smaller players often play a key role in this innovation.”


“We are also pleased to announce the shortlist for this year’s new category, Outstanding Graduate Programme, and are confident that the initiatives devised by each company will inspire others to ‘grow their own’ skilled personnel.”




The 2015 Offshore Achievement Awards finalists are:


Innovator (sponsored by Maersk Oil)

Expro North Sea


Return to Scene

WEB Rigging Services


Emerging Technology (sponsored by Nexen)

Churchill Drilling Tools

Delphian Ballistics

Paradigm Flow Services


Safety Innovations (sponsored by Met Office)



The Survitec Group


Environmentalist (sponsored by TWMA)

CETCO Energy Services

Paradigm Flow Services



Export Achievement

Alba Power

Tekmar Energy

Wireline Engineering


Working Together (sponsored by OPITO)

Decom North Sea

Maersk Oil



Outstanding Graduate Programme (sponsored by Robert Gordon University)

ACE Winches

Maersk Oil

Petrofac Offshore Projects and Operations


Young Professional (sponsored by Nalco Champion)

Brendan Forbes, Sparrows Group

Rory Gregor, Petrofac

Murray Kerr, SengS Subsea Engineering Solutions


Inspiring Leader (sponsored by MOL Group)

Murray Kerr, SengS Subsea Engineering Solutions

Mal Lowe, Petrofac

Dr Liane Smith, Wood Group Intetech


Great Small Company (sponsored by Wood Group PSN)

ASET International Oil & Gas Training Academy

Merlin ERD

SengS Subsea Engineering Solutions


Great Large Company (sponsored by Offshore Europe Partnership)

Aker Solutions




Significant Achievement (sponsored by Aker Solutions)

Announced at the ceremony


More than 500 industry professionals are expected to attend the awards ceremony, taking place at the Aberdeen Exhibition and Conference Centre (AECC) on Thursday 12 March 2015.

Related news

List of related news articles