Australian Minister Confirmed to Open CWC/IGU Australia Gas Conference 2011

Hon Chris Hartcher MP, Minister for Resources and Energy, Government of New South Wales will be officially opening the CWC/IGU Australia Gas 2011 conference at the Four Seasons Hotel, Sydney on 31 October.

Australia Gas 2011 is the first international strategic gas conference to be held in Australia and is co-hosted by the International Gas Union (IGU) and The CWC Group, running over 3 days from 31 October – 2 November 2011.

Chris Hartcher was first elected in 1988 as the Member for Gosford to the NSW Parliament, Chris has held many positions – serving as Government Whip from 1991 to 1992 and then serving as Minister for the Environment from June 1992 – 1995 in the Fahey Government.  Whilst Minister for the Environment, Chris was responsible for developing the national initiative on lead-free petrol and for the creation of a number of new National Parks and Wilderness Areas including Mount Popran National Park on the Central Coast.

After the Fahey Government left office in 1995, Chris held a number of positions on the front bench of the Opposition – he was Deputy Leader of the Opposition from 2002 – 2003 and served as Shadow Minister on SOCOG as the Shadow Minister for the 2000 Sydney Olympic Games. After the electoral redistribution in 2006, Chris stood for the new seat of Terrigal at the March 2007 NSW State Election. He was re-elected as the Member for Terrigal in March 2011.

After the 2011 election, Chris was appointed Minister for Resources and Energy, Special Minister for State and Minister for the Central Coast.

As well as the endorsement from the Government of New South Wales, Australia Gas 2011 is also supported by the Australia Gas Industry Trust (AGIT), Australia’s representative of the IGU, plus sponsors NWSALNG, ExxonMobil, FMC Technologies and King and Spalding LLP. Speakers are confirmed from major industry players, government ministries and regulators including Government of South Australia, Government of Western Australia, Gazprom Marketing and Trading Singapore, China’s National Ministry of Land and Resources, Shell Australia, Arrow Energy, Tokyo Gas, Energy Alliance of Australia, and many more.


Source: CWC, September 13, 2011;