ConocoPhillips names new board member

U.S. oil major ConocoPhillips has named a new member of the company’s board of directors.

ConocoPhillips said last Friday that Caroline Maury Devine would be the board of directors and that Richard Auchinleck decided not to stand for re-election as a director of the company at the end of his current term.

Ryan Lance, chairman and CEO of ConocoPhillips, said: “ConocoPhillips will benefit from Ms. Devine’s broad range of expertise in management and international affairs within our industry, as well as from her government experience and service on other public company boards.

“On behalf of the board and company, I would also like to take the opportunity to thank Mr. Auchinleck for his leadership over the past 15 years. His contributions have been invaluable to us, and we will miss him greatly.”

Devine currently serves on the boards of JBT Corporation and Valeo, as a member of the Nominating Committee of Petroleum Geo-Services ASA, and as a member of the Council on Foreign Relations.

She previously served on the boards of Det Norske Veritas, FMC Technologies, and Technip. Also, she is former Fellow at Harvard University’s Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs.

Devine began her career by serving the U.S. government for 15 years in positions on the White House Domestic Policy Staff, in the U.S. Embassy in Paris, and in the Drug Enforcement Administration.

In 1988, she joined Mobil Corporation, holding various corporate positions responsible for shareholder relations and governance issues, as well as international government relations. She then served as president and managing director of a Norwegian affiliate of ExxonMobil from 1996 to 2000.

Apart from her services on the ConocoPhillips board, Devine will also serve on the Audit and Finance Committee and the Public Policy Committee.