Finalists revealed for UK O&G Industry Safety Awards

Oil & Gas UK has revealed the names of the workers “striving to ensure safety in the UK offshore oil and gas industry” yesterday, March 26, 2015. 

There were over 100 nominations to the UK Oil and Gas Industry Safety Awards, jointly organised by Oil & Gas UK and Step Change in Safety, with Maersk Oil as principal sponsor.

Selection of the finalists for the April 29 ceremony was undertaken by previous winners, elected safety representatives and senior leaders from across industry.

Robert Paterson, health and safety director with Oil & Gas UK, said: “We received some fantastic nominations for our awards which celebrate the outstanding efforts of workers and companies in ensuring the best safety practice in the workplace.

“Even during these difficult times for the industry, safety remains at the forefront of operations and our awards help demonstrate that.”

Les Linklater, executive director, Step Change in Safety, added: “It is only right that we continue to celebrate the efforts made by committed individuals and organisations who are seeking to maintain and improve the safety of the North Sea, despite the challenges the industry is facing. To be nominated by your peers for playing your part is recognition in itself, and every finalist should be proud of reaching this next stage.”

The finalists in the six award categories are:

Safety Leadership
David Howard, Deputy OIM – Beatrice Alpha, Wood Group PSN
George McGavin, Lead HSE Advisor, Aker Solutions
Vic Retalic, HSES Manager, UK Business Unit, Premier Oil Plc

Safety Representative of the Year
Karen McCombie, Offshore Support Planner, Sodexo
Graeme Ritchie, Roustabout, Safety Representative, Rowan Drilling UK Ltd.
Mark Williams, LOLER focal point/Safety Representative, Petrofac

Innovation in Safety
BG Group and Amec Foster Wheeler


Workforce Engagement
Danny Savage and Willie McComb, Safety Coach and Project Manager, Centrica Energy
Petrofac and Remontowa Shipyard
Paul Redding and the Bruce Offshore Platform Team, BP

Occupational Health & Hygiene
Amec Foster Wheeler
Rowan Drilling UK Limited
Total E&P UK

Sharing and Learning

Nexen Petroleum UK Limited

The winners of each category will be announced at the award ceremony taking place at the Aberdeen Exhibition and Conference Centre and beginning at noon.

Related news

List of related news articles