SeaBird Exploration Chairman does not want to be re-elected

The Chairman of the Board of Directors of SeaBird Exploration Plc, Henrik Christensen, has advised the Board of Directors and the Company’s Nomination Committee that, due to other commitments, he does not wish to be re-elected to the Board of Directors at the next annual general meeting of the Company.

SeaBird proposes new BoD Chairman
Åge Korsvold to be elected as new Chairman

The Nomination Committee has performed a search of suitable candidates, and has resolved to propose that Åge Korsvold is elected as new Chairman. The proposal has been discussed with Christensen, the Board of Directors and certain principal shareholders, who support such proposal. Åge Korsvold is currently a board member of i.a. Timex Group B.V., Sapa AS, Green Resources AS, and Aweco Invest AS. Previous engagements include roles as CEO of Orkla, Kistefos and Storebrand.

Given that the proposal for a new Chairman of the Board of Directors has already been agreed, Christensen, the Board of Directors and the Nomination Committee has agreed that there is no reason to postpone implementation of the proposal until the annual general meeting, scheduled for 13 May 2014. On such basis, the Board of Directors has today resolved to call for an extraordinary general meeting where it is proposed to change the Board of Directors as indicated above.

If the proposal is approved, the Board of Directors will consist of Åge Korsvold (Chairman), Kitty Hall, Kjell Mathiassen, Melvin Teigen and John Olav Økland. The Nomination Committee proposes no change to the remuneration currently payable to the chairman of the Board, however, so that in the event that the work of the Chairman exceeds 10 full working days per year, the Chairman shall be entitled to invoice the Company an additional amount for each such full working day. The Nomination Committee will issue its formal recommendation in due course.


March 12, 2014; Image: Orkla

Related news

List of related news articles