Statoil names new board chairman

Norwegian energy company and LNG player Statoil elected Jon Erik Reinhardsen as the new chair of company’s board of directors.

Jon Erik Reinhardsen was elected following Øystein Løseth’s decision not to stand for re-election in 2017, as he wants to return to a career seeking more operational positions.

Roy Franklin was re-elected as deputy chair and Wenche Agerup, Bjørn Tore Godal, Rebekka Glasser Herlofsen, Maria Johanna Oudeman and Jeroen van der Veer as members of the board of directors, Statoil said.

Jon Erik Reinhardsen has been the chief executive officer of Petroleum Geo-Services (PGS) since 2008. He will leave his position in PGS on August 31, 2017, and start his new position as chair of the Statoil board from September 1, 2017.

Deputy chair, Roy Franklin will take the post of acting chair of the board during an interim period from July 1, when Løseth leaves the board.

Additionally, the corporate assembly re-elected Ingrid Di Valerio and Stig Lægreid as employee-elected members of Statoil’s board of directors.

Per Martin Labråthen was elected as a new employee-elected member. Hans Einar Haldorsen, Per Steinar Stamnes and Jorunn Birkeland were elected as deputy members for the employee-elected board members, with effect from June 8, 2017.