UK: SPE Aberdeen Welcomes New Chairman

The Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) Aberdeen Section has appointed Anthony Onukwu as Chairman. Mr Onukwu takes over the role from Masud Javaid and undertakes the role from August 2012- July 2013.

With 12 years of experience in the energy industry, Anthony is currently a senior technology analyst for ITF and is SPE Aberdeen Chairman on a voluntary basis. He has worked as petroleum engineer and project engineer in both the UK and West Africa, acquiring a depth of industry knowledge through these roles.

Anthony has won a number of SPE awards during his time on the Aberdeen board including International Young Member Outstanding Service Award, which he received in New Orleans in 2009.

Anthony said: “I would like to thank Masud for the great work he did whilst Chairman of SPE. In my role as Chairman, I wish to emphasise the benefits of being a member of SPE. The society gives members the chance to enhance their oil and gas knowledge, build contacts and support their professional career growth.

“As a section, we would we are keen to recruit additional volunteers for our committees, enter into new collaborations with other industry association and continue to raise public awareness of SPE and the industry.”

“Our members are from a broad range of professions within the oil and gas industry and our various committees offer a wide agenda of events to suit all.

“SPE has also established strong links with local schools and universities and aims to encourage students to consider a career in the industry by highlighting the excellent opportunities available.”

The SPE Aberdeen section was awarded the 2011-12 SPE President’s Award for Section Excellence. The accolade, which has been won for three consecutive years by the Aberdeen section, recognises exceptional merit across a number of areas including member programs, technology dissemination and cooperation with other SPE sections.

Anthony continued: “Winning the award for the third successive year is a great achievement for the section but we have no intention of being complacent. The award gives merit to the hard work of our committed volunteers who ensure we offer the best opportunities to our members and the wider community.

“I feel fortunate to have been selected by the board to be Chairman and I am keen to lead the section to the same award winning standard during the 2012-13 session.”

Press Release, September 20, 2012

Related news

List of related news articles