Scottish Renewables

Scottish Renewables board gets seven new members

Industry body Scottish Renewables, the voice of Scotland’s renewable energy sector, has appointed seven new directors to its board.

Rob Forrest, Chair of Scottish Renewables

An election for the posts saw 20 eligible candidates enter the ballot, with 65 per cent of the members voting.

The election process also saw a greater focus on gender diversity – a key objective in the elections.

Those appointed for full three-year terms are:

Mike Hay, commercial director of RIDG, has been reappointed for a full term after serving a one-year term.

Clare Lavelle, Head of Energy Consultancy at Arup, brings more than two decades of experience across the energy market.

Adam Morrison, project director at EDP Renewables, re-joins the board after serving as a co-opted member in 2018.

Kate Turner, policy and regulation director at ScottishPower Renewables.

Scottish Renewables has also boosted its board has with the addition of three co-opted members.

Jennifer Ballantyne, who leads Pinsent Masons’ Energy & Infrastructure team.

Eoghan Maguire, Director of Scotland and North UK at Vattenfall, joins the board for another year as a co-opted member.

Andrew Mill, chair of the European Marine Energy Centre.

Rob Forrest, chair of Scottish Renewables, said:

“It is great to see a record turnout of members engaging in what is a vital process for the proper governance of the organisation at a crucial time for all parts of our industry.

“I feel confident that we have the right breadth of skills and technologies to set the priorities for our industry and represent our diverse membership in the coming year.

Forrest also added that it is crucial that the industry continues to work together to showcase Scotland’s renewable energy capabilities and sets priorities in order to meet our net-zero targets.