UK: WFS Technologies Chairman Wins AMSI Business Person of the Year Award 2012

The annual Association of Marine Scientific Industries (AMSI) Business Person of the Year Award has been presented to Brendan Hyland, Founder and Chairman of WFS Technologies, by Peter French, Chairman of the Society of Maritime Industries (and Chief Executive of BMT Group Ltd).

The award was presented during a special award ceremony at the conference “Catching the Next Wave” at The Royal Institution of Great Britain in London, in advance of Oceanology International 2012 at London’s ExCel.

The AMSI award pays recognition to the individual who, in the opinion of the adjudicating panel has made significant contribution in the area of marine science and technology.

An experienced entrepreneur, manager and investor in international technology businesses, Brendan founded WFS Technologies in 2003 and has steered it to become the world leader in underwater and underground wireless products and technology. Headquartered near Edinburgh, the company has a customer support centre in Belfast and sales offices in Aberdeen and Houston. The company has a growing customer base in the worldwide energy, environment, consumer and defence industries.

“Brendan’s company epitomises the innovative approach of many UK companies, developing pioneering technology which has led to more than 200 patents being filed in the UK, USA and rest of the world.” commented Peter French of the award. “This drive to ensure the company retains its competitive advantage is but one reason why Brendan is a worthy recipient of the AMSI Business Person of the Year Award.”

“The Maritime Industries remain an important centre for technology innovations and I am honoured to be offered this prestigious award.” said Brendan in his reply. “I am pleased to accept this award on behalf of the whole team at WFS, whose dedication, commitment and innovation have made WFS a global success, supporting our customers with in subsea radio products.”

Brendan Hyland is the fifth recipient of the award after Ralph Rayner (BMT Group), Versha Carter (Intelligent Exhibitions), John Partridge (Sonardyne International) and Matthew Quartley (Valeport).

Subsea World News Staff , March 12, 2012;  Image: WFS