Anadarko names new board member

The U.S. independent oil company Anadarko Petroleum has announced a new addition to its board of directors.

The company said on Thursday that Claire S. Farley was named to the board as an independent director of the company with immediate effect.

Anadarko Chairman, President, and CEO Al Walker said: “Claire is a respected leader in the energy industry with a tremendous track record of success, including far-reaching experience in finance, strategic investments, mergers and acquisitions, and exploration and new ventures. We are grateful to have her exceptional strategic focus in the boardroom.”

Farley currently serves as the Vice Chair of Energy in KKR & Co. Before joining KKR in 2011, she was co-founder and co-CEO of RPM Energy LLC, a privately owned oil and natural gas exploration and development company, which partnered with KKR.

She was also a senior advisor at Jefferies Randall & Dewey, a global oil and gas industry advisor, and a co-President of Jefferies Randall & Dewey from February 2005 to July 2008.

Farley served as the CEO of Randall & Dewey from September 2002 until February 2005 when Randall and Dewey became the oil and gas investment banking group of Jefferies & Company.

Her oil and gas exploration expertise began in Texaco from 1981 to 1999. She was the President of Worldwide Exploration and New Ventures, President of North American Production, and CEO of Hydro-Texaco.

Apart from her duties in KKR and now Anadarko, Farley serves as a director of LyondellBasell Industries N.V. and TechnipFMC. In addition to her public directorships, she is also a board member of Samson Resources, a private company, and the Houston advisory board of the Nature Conservancy.

Related news

List of related news articles