Tidal Today Awards announces winners

The winners for the 2014 Tidal Today Awards have been revealed at the International Tidal Energy Summit recognizing outstanding achievements across the sector over the past year.

Now in its 5th year, the International Tidal Energy Awards brought together the marine energy industry to celebrate excellence, outstanding achievements and contributions to the developing tidal sector.

Jason Hayman, Managing Director of Sustainable Marine Energy, said: “We are delighted to have won the Best Technological Innovation Award and to receive the recognition for our technology and business model. We look forward to working with industry in the years to come.”

The 2014 Tidal Energy Awards Winners are as follows:

Outstanding Industry Achievement
• Atlantis Resources

Best Project
• MeyGen, Pentland Firth

Best Small Company
• Tidal Energy Limited

Best Technological Innovation
• Sustainable Marine Energy – PLAT-O Tidal Energy Platform

Most Supportive Supply Chain Company
• Pembroke Port

Best Example of Industry Collaboration
• Mojo Maritime (Bauer Renewables, Voith Hydro, DNV, University of Exeter, GE, Royal HaskoningDHV) – HF4 Project

Amongst the decision makers attending ITES 2014 were: Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change, Alstom, Atlantis Resources, Carbon Trust, DP Energy, EDF Energy, EMEC, ETI, GDF Suez, Innovate UK, Mojo Maritime, Ocean Energy Europe, OpenHydro, Siemens, The Crown Estate and West Normandy Marine Energy.

[mappress mapid=”35″]

Press Release; Image: Atlantis Resources/Illustration